What is Gluten Intolerance?

Gluten Intolerance is a broad term which includes all kinds of sensitivity to gluten.Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. Oats are added to the list even though they do not contain gluten because they often are processed in facilities on equipment that does contain gluten. This causes a cross contamination.
There are two types of gluten intolerance - celiac and non-celiac. A relatively small amount of gluten intolerant people will test positive to a celiac disease test and so are called celiacs. 1% of the population have celiac disease and as many as 10% are believed to be gluten intolerant. A persons body thinks that gluten is a toxin.